Movie Review: Somewhere

1 Feb

As a member of the Writer’s Guild, I’m fortunate enough to have screener copies of many Oscar favorites sent to me each year around award season. A lot of these screeners contain a simple request: after you watch the film, please snap the DVD in half, and do not attempt to distribute it. I always laugh at this…you want me to snap a free copy of Inception or The Social Network in half? What a stupid idea!

Last night I popped in my free screener of Somewhere, the latest endeavor from Lost in Translation writer/director Sofia Coppola, daughter of Godfather director Francis Ford Coppola. While it is often the case that the children of geniuses turn out to be geniuses as well, heredity is not fool-proof. Sometimes a genius father produces utterly worthless progeny.

Long story short, I watched twenty mind-numbingly boring minutes of Somewhere before I ejected the DVD, held it firmly in my hands, and for the first time ever, snapped a free screener in half.

This concludes my review of Somewhere.

5 Responses to “Movie Review: Somewhere”

  1. Lauren February 1, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    Agreed. The talent in this family was allocated 90% to Francis Ford Coppola, 8% to Nicholas Cage, and 2% to everyone else except Sofia.

  2. Kappy K February 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I learned my lesson after THE VIRGIN SUICIDES and LOST IN TRANSLATION. Sofia Coppola is a boredom monger.

  3. Jonas February 6, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Best review e-v-e-r.

  4. ~*~ April 21, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    I liked Marie Antoinette, just cause it is what it is. Like a little piece of cake.

  5. retirement becomes somewhat June 19, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

    If some one desires to be updated with latest technologies afterward
    he must be pay a quick visit this site and
    be up to date daily.

Leave a Reply

